Chemical Industry Awards Logo

Queens Hotel, Leeds  |  15 June 2017

Chemical Industry Awards 2017 - Shortlist Announced


The initial judging for the 2017 Chemical Industry Awards has taken place and CIA is delighted to announce and congratulate the following companies and individuals for achieving the short-list in their category:


ABB Manufacturing and Resource Efficiency Award

Johnson Matthey, Edinburgh

Nufarm UK Limited, Wyke

SI Group-UK Ltd, Four Ashes

Vertellus Specialties UK Ltd, Halebank


BASF Young Ambassador Award

David Carroll, Johnson Matthey, London

Stephen Donnelly, Dow Chemical, Belfast

Sophie Duffield, GlaxoSmithKline, Worthing

Joshua Henshaw, BASF plc, Cheadle

William Kerr, GlaxoSmithKline, Ware


Chemical Industry Service Provider sponsored by CIEC

The Acta Group EU Ltd (Acta®), Manchester

Clugston Construction Ltd, Scunthorpe

Envigo, Huntingdon

Eversheds Sutherland (International) LLP, London

HFL Consulting Limited, Denton

JSC International Limited (part of the ERM Group), Harrogate

Process Insight Consulting Ltd, Whitby

RMG, Preston Brook


CIA Company of the Year Award

BASF plc, Cheadle

Johnson Matthey, London

LyondellBasell, Carrington

Nufarm UK Limited, Wyke

SI Group-UK Ltd, Four Ashes


Environmental Leadership Award sponsored by ERM

Arcadis LLP, London

EPC United Kingdom plc, Bramble Island

Fine Environmental Services Ltd, Seal Sands


GSK Innovation Award

Arcadis LLP, London

BASF, Bradford

Byotrol Technology Limited, Ince

Gexcon UK Ltd, Ormskirk

Johnson Matthey, London and Avon Protection, Melksham

Oranmore Environmental Services Ltd, Wakefield


Health Leadership Award sponsored by Eversheds Sutherland

DSM Nutritional Products, Dalry

FMC Chemicals Ltd, Bromborough

Johnson Matthey, Edinburgh

Lubrizol Ltd, Derby

LyondellBasell, Carrington

Nufarm UK Limited, Wyke

Sanofi, Haverhill

SI Group-UK Ltd, Four Ashes


INEOS Responsible Care Award

BASF, Alfreton

BASF, Bradford

BASF, Grimsby

LyondellBasell, Carrington

Solvay, Warrington


Reputation Award sponsored by Chemicals North West

BASF, Bradford

Briar Chemicals Limited, Norwich

Centre for Industry Education Collaboration (CIEC), York

Johnson Matthey, London

Syngenta, Huddersfield


Skills Award sponsored by Cogent

BASF, Bradford and Grimsby

GlaxoSmithKline, Stevenage

GlaxoSmithKline, Ulverston

Johnson Matthey, Edinburgh

Lucite International, Billingham

Syngenta, Huddersfield



The winners will be announced at the Chemical Industry Awards Ceremony which will take place at the Queens Hotel, Leeds on Thursday 15 June.  The event provides an ideal opportunity to entertain valued clients, colleagues and guests in this celebration of the best of the UK chemical industry.  For details on how to book, please click here


The Chemical Industries Association would like to thank all our sponsors, please take time to visit the sponsor’s page.



ABB Consulting Logo ERM Logo
GSK Logo
Mint Events Logo

Chemical Industries Association

Kings Buildings

Smith Square



Facebook - Chemical Industries Association LinkedIn - Chemical Industries Association Twitter - Chemical Industries Association

Past Winners:  2016  |  2015

Chemical Industries Association (CIA) Logo